The Day Everything Changed Part 3

This is part 3 of the story. It is a day late. Please enjoy… like and share.

I looked over at the microwave clock, 4:45 PM. Well, at least I got home earlier than usual. I grabbed a glass from the kitchen cupboard and ran some water for the filtered faucet. I sluggishly walked to the bathroom and opened the medicine cabinet where I grabbed my headache medicine. I took 2 little white pills and tried to will the pain away.

            I came back to the kitchen and started going through my paperwork. I grabbed my cellphone and cycled through the contacts list. ‘Raya Worley, this was going to be fun,’ I thought sarcastically. I waited about 10 minutes so the medicine could begin to work. My head finally started to feel like it was returning to normal. I pressed the call button.

            The answer machine picked up, “Hello, this is Raya Worley’s phone, I am attending other business but if you leave your name, number and a brief message, I’ll get back to you as soon as I can. Thank you, have a nice day.”

            Funny, she almost sounded nice. She wasn’t, never had been. I took a breath and began, “Hi Raya, this is Tabitha Grimston. I am returning your call from earlier. I do apologize for not calling you in advance when I got busy and wasn’t able to make our appointment. I’d like to make it up to you. Monday at 2:00 PM, we can meet at my office. You can call Cassie, my assistant to confirm. I will be unavailable for the rest of the day and through the weekend. Thank you. Please have a wonderful weekend.” I hung up the phone. ‘Phew! At least that is over.’ I thought to myself.

            A couple hours passed and I was completely done with all my work. In my home office, I sat back in my chair and relaxed. Finally, it was time to unwind. I went to the kitchen and poured myself a glass of red wine. I lit a candle and sat at my island in my kitchen on a barstool. Staring at the flame and sipping my wine, I just caught a flash of a memory. Or at least it seemed like a memory. The dark room, the dim light, the cold, the pain… then nothing, shaking my head I repositioned and sat up straight. I looked around the room trying to see if anyone had come in. I was alone but I felt like I was being watched. I shouted, “If someone is there, show yourself! I am tired and don’t want to play games.”

            Just as I turned back to my glass of wine and sat back again, I heard it. “Do not be afraid. I do not wish to harm you.” A man’s voice, low and deep rumbled through my home. It was quiet, but at the same time had a sense of booming power you could hear from all rooms. My body stiffened and I glanced around. Nothing. I saw nothing. “You cannot see me if I do not wish it.”

            “You have got to be kidding me? If you are here to take something or hurt me, could we get on with it?” I spouted, after mixing the medicine and wine, I should have known better. It clearly altered my thinking and the way of my mouth. I wasn’t much worried, especially since I had been taking my self-defense classes. I was good at what I did. But something felt off. I couldn’t quite place it though.

            “I assure you, I do not wish to harm you. If I show you who I am, I need something in return. Are you willing to agree?” He spoke like an Englishman, extremely proper and with a beautiful melodic cadence.

            “Okay.” I said stubbornly. I never let my guard down. I was waiting for him to show his face.

            He stepped into the candlelight from the hallway leading back to my bedrooms. He was in dark clothing, a black leather jacket, dark purple button up shirt, black jeans and black combat boots. He had dark chocolate hair with these green eyes that seemed to glow softly in the candlelight. His skin was pale and perfect. Standing about 6’7”, he was built like a Titan or a god. Truthfully, in that moment, I had been stunned by his beauty. I stammered for words. It was like my mouth couldn’t move. I stood there just staring like I had seen something out of a dream or something. Yet, there was a distinct vibration from him, dangerous and methodical. Maybe more like a nightmare. I tried to collect myself to speak. “What do you want? Who are you? And why are you in my home?” I spat out quickly and breathlessly.

            “I am here to enlist your help. I am in need of your power.” He bowed his head slightly.

            “You have the wrong person. I don’t know what the hell you are talking about and I think you are crazy. Powers? What power? Did you escape from the asylum? You are talking crazy.” My temper began to flare and I clenched my jaw.

            “Let me start over, I apologize for entering your home without your permission. I usually am unable to do so without permission but I had to encourage another to help me get around that. My name is Larkyn Thorpe. And again, I am here seeking your help. You may not understand what is happening to you or even believe it, but I know things about you. I sense it in you. You are from the Engia witches bloodline. Please don’t be alarmed. Tell me, have you started feeling off as of late? Do you lose moments of time or long periods even? This is relative to the powers coming to the surface and making it known to you. You likely have had visions and can’t quite explain them or think they may have been just dreams? If any or all of these things are happening you are transitioning into your place as a witch. Yes, they exist among other things. This world offers much more than just mere humans.” He stepped a bit closer and I backed away. He shifted his weight on his feet and clasped his hands together. Bowing his head he softly said, “I sincerely mean you no harm. I just need your help. Please bear with me just a moment.”

            “How am I supposed to believe this? Yes, I have been losing time. I had a strange dream. I don’t know what to do. And to be honest you are scaring me.” I scooted over to the corner of the kitchen and leaned myself against the counter. A flood of emotion ran through me like a raging river. ‘Why was this happening to me? Why did I feel compelled to believe this man?’ I thought for sure I was going crazy now.

**Copyright**

Written By: Stacey Estrada

[This portion of the story was brought to you solely by me.]

Give a Thought

